Read

Untitled design-17
Pierre-François Le Louët 07.22.21

The summer we’ve dreamed about

NellyRodi is going on vacation! While our Parisian teams cool down their feverish creativity on a soft, sandy beach or in the fresh grass of the French countryside, our Tokyo, New York and other global teams will be our lookouts on the changing world. And it’s a world that’s changing fast.

This year in particular, while the creative industries were especially hurt by a dramatic health crisis, we witnessed an unprecedented acceleration of social change. It came on with such speed, we already know it won’t happen without conflicts. So these vacations will be an opportunity to sift through the long-term movements that affect the rules of living as a collective (the emergence of new borders, new social and cultural conflicts, our new relationship to work) and the trends tied to the weakening or strengthening of specific sectors (the decline in physical commerce and the growth of digital distribution, the green economy boom). We suspect there will be profound repercussions in the months and years to come.

That means the fall season won’t be any calmer. COVID variants will still give us reason to worry, but even more so, the cracks that have appeared in our economic and social structures will undoubtedly increase and perhaps speed up the disappearance of the former way of life we’ve talked so much about. This new foundational shift includes both the decline and then disappearance of yesterday’s world and the extremely rapid – meaning fragile – rise of a deeply fractured, new society. These issues will be at the center of our reflections.

In our most recent studies, we’ve already explored the new rules for interacting with China, and we explained the twists and turns of the new masculinities that demand fresh ways of relating to others. In our latest trendbook, Color Intelligence Spring Summer 2023, we looked at new uses for artificial intelligence as well as the protection of intangible cultural heritages. We also examined a different connection to history, forced by a recent look at our colonial past.

The autumn looks like it will be very interesting, and we need to be strong – with the certitude that “normal” no longer exists and with the hope, enthusiasm and desire to prove that the coming world will be better than the one we’re leaving behind.

With wishes for a great summer,

Pierre-François Le Louët
President, NellyRodi

More news

Lire

Untitled design-17
Pierre-François Le Louët 22.07.21

L’été dont nous avons rêvé

NellyRodi part en vacances ! Tandis que nos équipes parisiennes feront descendre leur degré de surchauffe créative sur une plage de sable fin ou sur l’herbe fraîche des campagnes françaises, nos équipes de Tokyo, New York et ailleurs dans le monde, seront nos vigies sur ce monde qui change. Et il change vite.

Cette année en particulier, alors que les industries créatives ont été particulièrement blessées par un contexte sanitaire dramatique, nous avons assisté à l’accélération sans équivalent d’une transformation sociétale si rapide que nous savons déjà qu’elle ne se fera pas sans heurts. Ces vacances seront donc l’occasion de faire le tri entre des mouvements pérennes qui touchent aux fondements du vivre ensemble (émergence de nouvelles frontières, de nouvelles fractures sociales et culturelles, nouveau rapport au travail), et des mouvements liés à la fragilisation ou au renforcement de certains secteurs d’activité (affaiblissement du commerce physique et montée en puissance de la distribution digitale, boom de l’économie verte) dont on soupçonne qu’ils auront des répercussions profondes dans les mois et les années qui viennent.

La rentrée ne sera donc pas plus calme : les variants seront encore des motifs d’inquiétude mais plus encore, les fissures qui sont apparues dans l’architecture de nos économies et de notre société risquent sans doute de s’agrandir et peut être d’accélérer la disparition de cet ancien monde dont nous avons tant parlé. Cette nouvelle tectonique qui voit à la fois la fragilisation avant l’engloutissement du monde d’hier et le surgissement extrêmement rapide donc fragile d’une nouvelle économie en phase avec une nouvelle société profondément déchirée, sera au cœur de nos réflexions.

Dans nos études les plus récentes, nous avons déjà exploré pour vous les nouvelles règles du jeu chinois, nous avons déchiffré les méandres des nouvelles masculinités qui imposent de nouveaux rapports à l’autre, nous avons exploré dans notre dernier cahier de tendances Color Intelligence Spring Summer 2023, les nouvelles applications de l’intelligence artificielle aussi bien que la protection des patrimoines immatériels, nous avons abordé le nouveau rapport à l’histoire qu’un regard récent sur nos passés coloniaux impose.

Notre rentrée s’annonce riche et il faudra être solide. Avec la certitude que le normal n’existe plus, avec l’espoir, l’enthousiasme et l’envie de convaincre que le monde qui vient sera meilleur que celui que nous avons quitté.

Bon été à tous.

Pierre-François Le Louët
Président de NellyRodi.

Plus d'actualités