Read

Contact us
Miror
Soège Lecocq 01.21.21

Home Fitness

Decodings

While work and daily activities are being organized around the home, fitness is being reinvented, transforming houses into personal training studios.

Busy schedules, increasingly crowded gyms, a lack of parking, a greater number of home offices and more recently a health crisis have all changed the game for fitness centers. From one day to the next, gyms were abandoned by consumers who are now choosing to work out at home.

Heading toward a new post-COVID horizon

The numbers say it all: in France 59% of French say they worked out or did sports at least once a week during the lockdown (compared to 61% in 2019), a sign that stay-at-home orders and closed sports centers didn’t discourage fitness buffs.

And the crisis made the sports market in particular a big winner. The Guardian reports that, during the quarantine with gyms closed, American’s interest in home exercise equipment soared by 500%. Apps for fitness and getting in shape – ever more numerous and varied – also beat all the records.

App Annie, a company that analyses the app market, reports a 40% global surge in downloading apps during the lockdown, compared to weekly averages in January and February.

Making movement virtual

The unusual health situation is redefining the entire fitness sphere, but the trend, a result of virtual reality technology, has existed for a few years.

While culture is being recalibrated to take into account distancing and the total digital experiences, fitness activities are also changing paradigms with the arrival of training sessions on Instagram, YouTube and Zoom and of virtual training platforms.

To deal with the upheavals related to COVID-10, the platforms that are already virtual training leaders, such as Nike Training Club, LES MILLS On Demand and Adidas Training, made some or all of their online sessions public. It was a tactic to encourage a target that’s not used to working out this way to participate, and maybe make them think twice about going back to the gym once they’ve tested the online experience.

LesMills On Demand

Platforms and apps dedicated to yoga, the most popular virtual fitness activity, such as Alo Moves, Sky Ting TV, Glo and Daily Yoga also came out as post-lockdown champs. By offering online classes for between $9 and $30 per month, they stood out from traditional yoga studios with their much higher fees.

In addition to specialized platforms, YouTube, Instagram and Zoom also played their cards right during the health crisis by making service free. On Instagram, coaches, influencers and fitness centers such as Sissy Mua, Laury Thilleman, KlayParis, Neoness and Barre Shape offer regular sessions that can be viewed an unlimited number of times and without payment, in an effort to make their community loyal and increase their number of subscribers.

Besides advantageous prices, on-demand’s ease of use, flexibility and inclusivity make a big difference for the virtual experience. The time saved is significant, and it lets shy consumers participate in a sports activity without worrying about being seen and perhaps judged on their physiques.

IGTV Klay Paris Sissy Mua

Fitness-tech brands have the wind at their backs

In the premium market, connected technologies and devices for working out bring a new dynamic to the fitness sphere, an impulse that’s poised to become the industry’s new growth driver.

Peloton, which rapidly became a benchmark in the area, has disrupted the indoor bike world with its connected Peloton bike, sold between $2,245 and $2,694 and on-demand spin classes starting at $58 a month. Reuters reports that during lockdown, Peloton sales rose almost 61% to hit the $420 million mark in its fiscal third quarter ended 31 March. Despite strong competition (SoulCycle, Echelon, Technogym Bike and others), Peloton was able to stand out with the comfort of its equipment and the quality of its virtual classes.

But Apex may pose a threat to this prosperous scenario. Bikes from England’s new player are available on preorder with prices under £1,200 and class subscriptions at £30 a month.

Spin bike par Peloton

Smart training mirrors such as Mirror, Forme Life, Tonal and Tempo are the latest innovation, and they’ve grabbed the attention of the home fitness sector. The new connected sports equipment and devices are tantamount to personal trainers. Thanks to a LCD touch screen, stereo speakers, a camera and microphone, participants get ongoing feedback on their form and enjoy a highly interactive experience.

Miroirs connectés Forme Life Mirror

The mirrors, which don’t take up much space and have a stylish look, are the promise of a new approach to fitness – albeit a more expensive one – with prices between $1,500 and $5,000. But they’re sure to attract younger generations who are ultra-connected and very concerned about being in shape.

Cover image credit: © DEEP Digital Collection by The Fabricant

More news

Lire

Nous contacter
Mirror
Soège Lecocq 21.01.21

Home Fitness

Décryptages

Alors que le travail et la vie quotidienne se structurent autour de la maison, le sport se réinvente et transforme le foyer en un studio d’entraînement personnel.

Aux horaires chargés, centres de plus en plus bondés et aux problèmes de stationnement s’ajoutent un home office de plus en plus présent, et plus récemment une crise sanitaire qui change la donne pour les salles de sport désertées du jour au lendemain par des consommateurs qui s’orientent dorénavant vers un activité sportive à domicile.

Vers de nouveaux horizons suite au COVID

Les chiffres parlent d’eux-mêmes : en France, 59% des Français affirment avoir pratiqué une activité physique ou sportive au moins une fois par semaine durant le confinement (contre 61% en 2019), signe que l’ordre de rester chez soi et la fermeture des salles n’a pas suffi à démotiver les sportifs.

Et c’est le secteur des articles de sport qui profite particulièrement de la crise. The Guardian rapporte que durant le confinement, la fermeture des salles de sport a fait grimper de 500% l’intérêt des américains pour les équipements d’exercice à domicile.

Les application de fitness et de remise en forme, toujours plus nombreuses et variées, battent aussi tous les records. Le cabinet d’analyse du marché des application App Annie rapporte une hausse des téléchargements de 40% dans le monde durant le lockdown par rapport à la moyenne hebdomadaire des mois de janvier et février.

Virtualisation de l’activité

Malgré une situation inédite qui redessine tout le paysage fitness, cette tendance est déjà installée depuis quelques années, fruit de la virtualisation des expériences.

Alors que la culture se repense au prisme de la distanciation sociale et de l’expérience 100% digitale, la pratique sportive change de paradigme avec la naissance des séances d’entraînement sur Instagram, Youtube, Zoom et des plateformes d’entraînement virtuelles.

Pour faire face aux perturbations liées au COVID-19, des plateformes déjà leaders dans la pratique virtuelle telles que Nike Training Club, LesMills On Demand ou Adidas Training ont rendu publiques tout ou partie de leurs sessions en ligne. Un moyen de provoquer la venue d’une cible peu habituée ou encore dubitative sur ce moyen de rester en forme, et qui fera peut-être réfléchir sur un potentiel retour à la salle de sport après avoir goûté à l’expérience interactive en ligne.

LesMills On Demand

Les plateformes et applications spécialisées dans le Yoga – activité sportive virtuelle la plus populaire – telles que Alo Moves, Sky Ting TV, Glo ou Daily Yoga sortent aussi gagnantes du confinement. En proposant des séances en ligne avec des mensualités comprises entre 9$ et 30$, elles se démarquent des salles de yoga traditionnelles aux prix largement supérieurs.

En dehors des plateformes spécialisées, YouTube, Instagram et Zoom tirent aussi leur épingle du jeu durant la crise sanitaire de par la gratuité du service. Sur Instagram, coachs, influenceurs et salles de sport tels que Sissy Mua, Laury Thilleman, KlayParisNeonessBarre Shape proposent des séances régulières, revisualisables à l’infini et sans contrepartie financière dans l’optique de fidéliser leur communauté et d’accroître leurs abonnés.

Outre les prix avantageux, les facteurs de commodité, de flexibilité et d’inclusivité du on-demand font la grande différence de l’expérience virtuelle. Non seulement il s’agit d’une économie de temps non négligeable, mais elle permet aussi aux consommateurs timides de pratiquer leur activité sportive sans avoir à se soucier des regards extérieurs ou éventuelles critiques sur leur physique.

IGTV Klay Paris Sissy Mua

Les marques fitness-tech ont le vent dans le dos

Dans le haut de gamme, les technologies et appareil connectés dédiés au sport introduisent une nouvelle dynamique dans la sphère fitness, et sont sur le point de devenir le nouveau moteur de croissance de l’industrie.

Devenu rapidement une référence en la matière, Peloton disrupte le vélo en salle avec son Peloton Bike connecté vendu entre 2245$ et 2694$ comprenant des cours de spin bike à la demande à partir de 58$/mois. Reuters rapporte que durant le confinement, les ventes de Peloton ont bondi de près de 61% pour monter à 420 millions de dollars au cours de son troisième trimestre fiscal clos le 31 mars. Malgré une forte concurrence (SoulCycle, Echelon, Technogym Bike…), il a su se distinguer de ses pairs par le confort de son équipement et la qualité de ses cours virtuels.

Une vie prospère qui pourrait bien être menacée par Apex, le petit nouveau anglais disponible en précommande dont le coût ne dépasse pas les 1200£ pour un vélo et 30£/mois pour un abonnement.

Spin bike par Peloton

Dernière innovation en date, les miroirs d’entrainement intelligents tels que Mirror, Forme Life, Tonal, ou encore Tempo, sont l’objet de toutes les attentions dans le milieu du home fitness. Ces nouveaux équipements de sport connectés  assimilables à personal trainers, permettent un suivi de la forme physique en continu grâce à l’écran LCD tactile, aux haut-parleurs stéréo, à la caméra et au microphone qui rendent l’expérience hautement interactive.

Miroirs connectés Forme Life Mirror

Peu encombrants et esthétiquement attractifs, ils promettent une nouvelle approche du sport, certes beaucoup plus onéreuse – un miroir coûte entre 1500$ et 5000$ -, mais qui saura séduire les prochaines générations particulièrement soucieuses de leur forme physique et ultra-connectées.

Plus d'actualités