Read

Contact us
Atelier_Aveus_-_Non-Objective_Table_1sit
Timothée Richard 12.16.20

Home sweet home… at work !

Decodings

In a day and age when the emotional quotient (EQ) is becoming a key recruitment factor, the workplace is being transformed into a home away from home.

With fatigue and burnout surging these days, conventional working methods have come under fire. For the first time in history, several academic publications have undermined our firm conviction that the workplace requires functional design. According to them, making room for emotion is an important element in creating a healthy corporate culture.

Where is this change coming from? For one thing, the ongoing quest for meaningfulness goes counter to the same-old capitalist principles. In addition, many employers are treating emotional security as a core value to help employees feel serene and secure as well as creative and enterprising.

From functionality to emotional security

Dozens of researchers specialized in different fields of study, from neuroscience to the humanities, think that today’s most flourishing companies are those that break to some extent with the old-school, rational mindset that separates the affective from the functional.

Countless U.S. multinationals, including PepsiCo, Southwest Airlines, Whole Foods, The Container Store and Zappos, are flying the “love brand” banner not only to reach their customers but also to create a management culture that highlights a sense of belonging. This endeavor is supported by semantic markers of “love” and “emotional attention” as well as a more affective employee-employer relationship.

In Europe, Freitag and Loyco have taken this idea farther by updating a management style centered on Holacracy, a mainstream trend compatible with the new generation’s post-modern, free-spirited forms of expression stressing horizontality and give-and-take. The formation of the employer-employee relationship is now characterized by a new degree of proximity, a far cry from the “top down” approach typical of recent decades.

Amid the current debate about the future of employment, consulting firms are on board with this movement. After 20 years of professional experience, workplace strategist Erica Keswin scored a success in the U.S. with a book about these changes called “Bring Your Human To Work “. In step with dating culture, the emotional quotient (QE) is gaining ground over the conventional intelligence quotient (IQ) along with soft skills like communication, leadership and time management.

“Well-being is the new welfare”

This inclusive conversation has had a major impact on the vision of the ideal office. An article on Forbes.com cites the findings of a report entitled “2017 State of Telecommuting in the U.S. Employee Workforce“, notably that “between 2005 and 2015, the number of U.S. workers who do at least 50% of their work either at home or some location other than their office grew by 115%.” This trend has put flexibility and the well-being of individuals at the heart of quality of life at work (QLW) initiatives in the Western countries, thereby oversetting intrinsic notions of visual identity and office design.

“We no longer need a grey, traditional atmosphere or the rigid mentality of the previous century,” says Fosbury & Sons, which creates inspiring co-working spaces that mark the transition from “the office” to a “business hub” complete with a homelike atmosphere and empowered employees. In Brussels, its most recent project expresses its conviction that providing a human-oriented, elegant and holistic working environment is the best way to encourage creativity.

Riding a similar wave of inspiration, the design brand MENU teamed up with Norm Architects to update the attributes of its new headquarters in Copenhagen. This hybrid space – “The Audo” –includes a hotel residence, a restaurant, a café, a concept store, a material library and a creative work/event space. The project reflects a new ethos uniting “design, work-life, hospitality and community”.

In Berlin, the design firm Loehr relied on analogy in creating a workspace for the digital innovation company Unicorns & Lions that was “reminiscent of a loft”, a reference to the overall feel of the place. It opted for a bold concept that “utilizes colourblocking and surface materiality to code the functional areas – a subtle and emotional subdivision of the otherwise open space.”

While these elements may not make a direct contribution in utilitarian terms, they meet the expectations of the new generation. The idea is not to provide a desk and a chair, but a global work experience that promotes “excellence” to help workers do their best work.

Cover: ©Atelier Avéus

More news

Lire

Atelier Avéus
Timothée Richard 16.12.20

Le workplace à l’heure de la maison

Décryptages

Avec le quotient émotionnel (QE) comme valeur fondamentale à l’embauche, notre époque transforme le lieu de travail en un espace de vie dont il faut jouir.

L’augmentation de la « fatigue » et des cas de burn out professionnels ont orchestré un focus inédit sur les méthodes traditionnelles de travail. Pour la première fois de l’histoire, et alors que nous étions persuadés que le cadre des activités nécessitait un design fonctionnel, plusieurs publications académiques ont souligné l’inverse : laisser la place à l’émotion crée une culture plus saine en entreprise.

Y a-t-il une explication à cette nouvelle donne ? La recherche de sens (hors des principes de capitalisation) en est une, mais elle ne suffit pas. De l’avis de dizaines de chercheurs, qu’ils viennent des neurosciences ou des sciences humaines, c’est la remise du principe de sécurité émotionnelle au centre de l’entreprise qui fait office de stratégie de long term, permettant, en tant qu’employé, d’être à la fois calme, créatif, et entreprenant.

De la fonctionnalité à la sécurité émotionnelle  

Désormais, les entreprises les plus prospères sont celles qui rompent, en partie, avec le principe de raison. Qui prônait il y a quelques décennies la division des sphères affectives et émotionnelles.

Parmi elles, un nombre incalculable de multinationales américaines – PepsiCo, Southwest Airlines, Whole Foods, The Container Store et Zappos… – qui mettent en exergue la « love brand », non plus seulement vis-à-vis de leurs clients mais dans leur culture d’appartenance managériale. Une donnée notamment étayée par les marqueurs sémantiques de « l’amour » et de « l’attention », traduisant un rapport plus affectif dans la culture de l’entreprise.

En Europe, Freitag et Loyco sont allés plus loin dans cette idée en mettant au goût du jour un management axé sur l’Holacracy – une tendance de fond qui colle avec les expressions post-modernes de la nouvelle génération : liberté, horizontalité, réciprocité. Le lien entre l’employé et l’entreprise se fait ainsi sous l’égide d’un degré nouveau de proximité, éloignée de l’idée de top-down qui a caractérisée les dernières décennies.

Du côté des consultants, cette même idée régit les débats autour de l’avenir du travail. Erica Keswin, après 20 ans d’expérience dans le workplace a sorti un livre à succès aux Etats-Unis sur ces mutations : « Bring Your Human To Work ». Mettant en avant la prise de pouvoir du Quotient Emotionnel (QE) – sur le traditionnel Quotient Intellectuel (QI) -comme l’importance des soft skills (communication, leadership, gestion du temps, …) à l’heure de la culture du dating.

Erica Keswin - Bring your human at work

Well-being is the new welfare

Et cette discussion inclusive se répercute largement sur la vision idéale du bureau. Alors qu’un article de Forbes (2017) annonce que le Home Office a connu une croissance de 115% en 10 ans aux Etats-Unis, mettant en exergue le besoin de liberté de tous, le « well-being » – au cœur des initiatives de QVT dans les pays occidentaux –bouleverse les notions intrinsèques d’identité visuelle et d’agencement.

« Nous n’avons plus besoin d’une atmosphère grise, traditionnelle et de la mentalité fonctionnelle du siècle précédent » explique le cabinet Fosbury & Sons qui, pour parler de cette transition dans les esprits, parle du passage progressif du concept de bureau à celui de « business hub » positionné sur la maison et l’empowerment des employés. Un environnement qui à en croire leur dernier espace de travail à Bruxelles, se base sur la conviction qu’un lieu de travail qui valorise l’humanité des gens, élégant et holistique, est la meilleure voie vers la créativité.

Fosbury Sons Boitsfort - Brussels
Fosbury Sons Boitsfort - Brussels 1

Sur ces mêmes codes du « Home at Work », la marque homeware MENU a largement revu les attributs design de l’Audo, son nouveau siège social à Copenhague. Développé par Norm Architects, il intègre à son espace concept store, café et une dizaine de chambres d’hôtels, reflétant une intersection nouvelle de l’univers travail avec la maison et l’hôtellerie, tout en axant sur l’aspect social de la construction de communautés.

Audo
Audo

Si le message résonne particulièrement, en lien avec le phénomène « Wise City » étudié cet hiver, d’autres workplaces s’inspirent aussi largement de ce glissement entre valeur d’utilité et valeur d’être lifestyle. 

A Londres, 200 Gray’s Inn Road, proposé par le cabinet Conran and Partners fait fi de l’aspect cellulaire des bureaux, remplacé par des structures de co-living et un café ouvert au public. Redynamisant d’autant l’image d’un lieu aéré, en adéquation avec le concept de maison dans la ville.

200 Gray’s Inn Road 1

A Berlin, l’analogie se vérifie aussi : le studio de design d’intérieur Loehr est à l’origine de la conception du lieu de vie de la société digitale Unicorns & Lions, un univers qui « rappel un loft » souligne le WallPaper cet été, en référence non seulement au design réfléchi des locaux, mais aussi au mix audacieux entre zones fonctionnelles et émotionnelles.

Des données qui si elles dépassent l’aspect utilitariste du lieu de travail, répond largement aux mutations attendues par la nouvelle génération de travailleurs : non plus une table et une chaise, mais une expérience globale de travail teintée d’excellence qui permet de donner le meilleur de soi-même.

Unicorns Lions Berlin

Image à la Une : ©Atelier Avéus

Plus d'actualités