Read

Contact us
Line-Hotel-Austin-lobby-RTTATXLH0718-1024x640
Eléonore Terzian 12.14.20

The new hotel: the latest hot social network?

Decodings

After the emergence of boutique hotels and spas, the hospitality business is reinventing itself.

After the emergence of boutique hotels and spas, the hospitality business is reinventing itself. Hotels are becoming places to live and not just “stay at”, a sort of social network in real life. Hotels used to simply be places to stay. With the rise of disruptive players like Airbnb, they are now designed to promote conviviality and human interaction. Hotels are leaving no stone unturned to dream up new ways to please their guests. There are two key objectives: allow international guests and local residents to mingle while anchoring the hotel in neighborhood life. To this end, hotels are coming up with all kinds of ideas, e.g. special apps, pop-up stores, premium concierge services or concerts. Let’s take a look at the dynamics of this new trend in hospitality, which aims to satisfy the latest demands of connected, volatile travelers avid for Instagrammable experiences.

Places that are social…
A new type of space is emerging today. The point is to offer a social experience with a friendly, community-centric “youth hostel” feel as well as innovative design and great food and drinks. The goal is to attract Millennials, who like services in step with their values and lifestyle. The hotels in the Freehand hotel chain in the U.S. each have their own network of restaurants and bars, “overseen by top local talent and inspired by the city they call home.”

In the same vein, the Life House hotel in Miami – which an article in Forbes called “the first and only Silicon Valley-backed hotel company in the U.S. with a tech first approach” – capitalizes on the enriching aspect of travel and how it can create bonds and elicit emotion. Life House runs its own social network and plans activities (e.g. dinners and surfing sessions) to help hotel guests and local residents mingle. Guests can even opt to sleep in a bunk bed in a shared room at $50 a night. Prospective “roomies” can get acquainted prior to their stay over the hotel’s own social network. The technology, design and site development are all handled in-house, thus removing intermediaries. The savings generated make it possible to offer a luxury experience at an affordable price.

…and experiential
“Lifestyle” chains like Accor’s Mama Shelter have totally revamped the customer experience. Hotels have become a scalable product highlighting new technologies and staging events that create a social media buzz. Towards the end of 2018, Ora-Ito’s mobile pop-up hotel Flying Nest was installed at the Alpine resort of Avoriaz. The idea is to have guests enjoy an unusual experience close to Nature in cabins that are comfortable and made of natural wood… and look like shipping containers!

Reaching out to the local community
Unlike traditional tourists or business travelers, travelers seeking authenticity express a need to reconnect with others. For hotels, that means more contact with locals. As a result, many hotel chains are seeking to please this class of traveler by playing up the “neighborhood” angle. AccorHotels has rolled out AccorLocal, a mobile app that operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Using it, one can book a yoga class, use of the fitness facilities, brunch or take-away breakfast. This initiative allows local small businesses to offer their goods or services to hotel guests and the hotel to promote its services among the local community.

In Austin, Texas, the LINE hotel offers eclectic events including live concerts, Detox Yoga classes and one-off events for the local community. Recently, visitors were invited to show their Bumble BFF profiles to the baristas at the Alfred coffee shop in the lobby in order to get a free coffee!

The new breed of hotel – i.e. a living space doubling as a retail outlet and social network – is constantly reinventing itself to attract the local, domestic and international elements of an increasingly travel-oriented clientele. Hyperconnected yet rooted in neighborhood life, the new hospitality venues are reaching out to local residents while targeting travelers interested in new destinations offering online/offline assets and friction-free experiences.

Cover credit © Line Hotel – Austin – Lobby – travelandleisure.com

More news

Lire

Nous contacter
Line Hotel – Austin – Lobby – travelandleisure.com
Eléonore Terzian 14.12.20

L’hôtel, le nouveau réseau social ?

Décryptages

Après l’émergence des boutiques-hôtels et des Spa, l’hôtellerie se réinvente en lieu de vie.

Après l’émergence des boutiques-hôtels et des Spa, l’hôtellerie se réinvente en lieu de vie. Un réseau social « in real life ». Autrefois simples espaces d’hébergement, et face à la montée en puissance d’acteurs disrupteurs comme Airbnb, les hôtels sont aujourd’hui pensés comme des espaces de convivialités, de rencontres, imaginant de nouvelles formules pour leurs résidents. Deux objectifs majeurs : permettre à une clientèle internationale de côtoyer une clientèle locale, et ancrer l’hôtel dans la vie de quartier. Application dédiée, pop-up store, conciergerie premium, concerts… Zoom sur une nouvelle dynamique hôtelière qui vise à satisfaire les nouvelles exigences d’un voyageur connecté, volatile et avide d’expériences instagrammables.

Des lieux fédérateurs…

Des espaces d’un nouveau genre voient le jour et associent à la fois culture sociale des auberges de jeunesse, design novateur, plats et boissons primés, le tout dans une atmosphère conviviale centrée sur la « communauté ». Une manière de séduire les voyageurs millennials friands de services en accord avec leurs valeurs et leur style de vie. La chaîne hôtelière américaine Freehand abrite son propre réseau de restaurants et de bars, supervisés par les meilleurs talents locaux et inspirés des villes dans lesquelles ils se situent.

Sur le même principe, le Life House hôtel de Miami, soutenu par la Silicon Valley, s’inspire du caractère enrichissant des voyages ainsi que leur capacité à créer des liens et des émotions. Life House propose son propre réseau de médias sociaux afin que clients et habitants se rencontrent à travers diverses activités. Au programme : dîners, sessions de surf ou encore chambres partagées à partir de 50$ la nuit où il est possible de faire connaissance avec son colocataire avant son séjour via un réseau social dédié. La technologie, la conception et le développement du lieu sont réalisés en interne permettant ainsi de réduire les intermédiaires tout en proposant une expérience luxueuse à moindre coût.

…et expérientiels
Les chaines « lifestyle », comme Mama Shelter (Accor), ont su renouveler en profondeur l’expérience client. L’hôtel devient un produit évolutif dans lequel les nouvelles technologies jouent un rôle majeur et dont les évènements sont largement relayés sur les réseaux sociaux. Flying Nest, l’hôtel nomade et éphèmère d’Ora-Ito s’est installé fin 2018 aux sommets des montagnes d’Avoriaz. Le résident est invité à vivre expérience atypique au plus près de la nature tout en passant la nuit dans de confortables cabines en bois naturel dont l’esthétique rappelle celle des containers métalliques.

En Suède, le « Ice Hotel », espace éphémère sculpté dans la glace et conçu par 33 artistes, comprend 15 suites au design unique, une salle de réception pour les mariages et de nombreuses œuvres d’art pour vivre un moment unique.

Désireux d’animer ses espaces avec des acteurs appréciés de sa communauté, l’Ace Hotel de Londres a invité la plateforme digitale spécialiste de la culture street Highsnobiety autour d’un pop-up « From Berlin With Love ». Vêtements, accessoires, cadeaux et articles de voyage de marques berlinoises sont disponibles en exclusivité.

Des espaces tournés vers des services de proximité
Les voyageurs en quête d’authenticité, expriment le besoin de se reconnecter aux autres et de créer un maillage de proximité plus humain. En réponse à ce besoin, les chaînes hôtelières visent désormais les habitants de quartier plutôt que les traditionnels touristes et voyageurs d’affaires. A l’instar de l’application « AccorLocal » développé par AccorHotels dont le crédo est d’offrir « tous les services des hôtels à proximité sans y dormir ». En effet, l’application incite les mobinautes à se géolocaliser afin de réserver cours de yoga, accès aux salles de sport, brunch, petit déjeuner à emporter et de profiter des petits commerçants de leur quartier, même en dehors des horaires d’ouverture soit 24h/24 7j/7.

A Austin, au Texas, le Line propose une série d’évènements éclectiques allant des concerts live aux cours de « yoga détox » ainsi que des actions ponctuelles locales. Dernièrement, l’hôtel invitait les visiteurs à présenter leurs profils Bumble aux baristas du café Alfred, situé dans son hall d’accueil, afin de remporter une boisson gratuite.

L’hôtel est devenu lieu de vie, boutique retail et réseau social, invité à se réinventer en permanence, pour accueillir une clientèle locale, nationale voire internationale et de plus en plus voyageuse. A la fois hyper connectées pour répondre au besoin d’expérience et ancrées dans la vie de quartier pour améliorer le quotidien des riverains, ces néo auberges attirent des voyageurs contemporains qui veulent découvrir de nouvelles destinations du online au offline et sans friction.

Crédit de couverture © Line Hotel – Austin – Lobby – travelandleisure.com

Plus d'actualités