Read

Contact us
Neo-desorde-Renovations-by-OMA-for-KaDeWe
Timothée Richard 12.14.20

A New Take on Disorder

Decodings

Alongside the “rational rationalization” of tidy-mindedness, messiness and the philosophy of disorder are emerging as part of a new business ideology.

In is book « Messy : The Power of Disorder to Transform our Lives », the economist Tim Harford presents a scheme of things that clashes with standard management practices. In his view, refraining from controlling things can be beneficial and society is at fault for insisting on excessive tidiness, resulting in a waste of creativity.

Contrasting with the dryness of the ambiant rationalism, this take on disorder offers a glimpse of a world in the process of re-enchantment, with the promise of novel ways of self-expression, communication and stimulating consumption.

Primacy of humor over rigor

In an about-face from less-than-inspiring visions of reality, disorder is perceived as a token of spontaneity or even emotional rapport with consumers. This trend has been visible for some time in paths to purchase – e.g. shopping mazes like Flying Tiger – and has now emerged in retail via the bazaar concept. One example is Bazartherapy, in Paris, the perfect place to indulge in retail therapy. This concept store has set out to be “the gift shop of our childhood” infused with “the promise of magic”, full of surprises and real “finds” with plenty of chic, offbeat appeal.

On a more complex and larger scale, Rem Koolhas’s architectural firm OMA is renovating the KaDeWe department store in Berlin. Maze-like, the new design is a cross-shaped, 3D network designed to facilitate access, circulation and navigation between its quadrants.

The notion of “customer experience” can thus inspire a variety of complex staging effects: intertwined elements, nest-like structures, corridors, nodes and junctions. In this way, design plays its part in sustaining consumption.

Disruption in the creative spheres

In the beauty and creative industries, societal rhetoric is also undergoing a quantum shift, giving the boot to the old norms and welcoming subversion.

Humor and derision drive the socially-conscious makeup brand Lipslut, founded in Los Angeles after the election of Donald Trump in November 2016. Instead of providing scientific explanations and descriptions of consumer benefits, it pitches itself as “a middle finger to the current sociopolitical landscape”.

Up with zany impertinence!

Less science, more throwing caution to the wind. These characteristics in society’s mental landscape indicate an attraction for the unpredictable.

This message comes through in campaigns such as those of Asos (Live Curious), Dutch Design Week and Vogue. If the object is to boost moments of adhesion, “offbeat” definitely trumps “serious”!

In parallel, at a time when design is all-important, many are turning to art – and divination –instead of data science. Here, optimization is no longer a prime concern.

The work of artist David Shrigley and sculptor Martin Boyce challenge the status quo and the notions of order and obedience. Once again, parody is a mainstay of a popular trend, in this case, focusing on the absurdities of everyday life.

This penchant for the illogical and disorder may be detected in types of creative discourse that give “free rein” to the imagination, value the unexpected and – especially – capitalize on serendipity, i.e. the fortuitous happenstance.

That begs the question: Is it possible to organize chance? To create conditions that will produce a chain of circumstances? In conclusion, the work of sociologist Harmut Rosa may offer a few insights that shed light on these matters. He distinguishes between “echo” (repeating an opinion with which one is not authorized to differ) and “resonance” (speaking with one’s own voice). It may be that disorder has the power to transform our lives by increasing our ability to “resonate” with the world around us.

More news

Lire

Nous contacter
©KaDeWe par OMA
Timothée Richard 14.12.20

Néo Désordre

Décryptages

En marge de la rationnelle rationalisation du rangement, le « messy » et la philosophie du désordre sont parties prenantes d’une nouvelle idéologie de business.

Dans « Messy : The Power of Disorder to Transform our Lives », l’économiste et journaliste britannique Tim Harford expose un schéma différent de ce que le management nous enseigne : un certain éloge du non maitrisé, et à l’inverse, une critique d’une société qui en voulant faire trop rangé, gaspille la créativité.
Au-delà de la sécheresse du rationalisme ambiant, ce désordre est l’incarnation d’un monde en ré-enchantement, qui évoque, en ses liens de nouvelles façons de s’exprimer, de communiquer et une autre manière d’inspirer la consommation.

De l’humeur à la rigueur

Exit la réalité fantasmée, trop difficile à commenter, le désordre devient gage de spontanéité, et même la garanti d’une relation émotionnelle avec le consommateur. Ce non-sens s’incarnait déjà depuis un moment dans des parcours d’achat – labyrinthes de vente – comme Tiger. Il est désormais repris dans des espaces de vente entièrement dédiés au bazar, comme Bazartherapy, concept store thérapeutique qui mise sur le chic qu’est la rencontre avec des objets en tout genre.
La promesse d’un lieu magique et poétique fait de surprises, et « trouvailles ». C’est l’irrégulier qui donne un rythme vibratoire au produit, et marque les esprits.

Plus complexe et à plus grande échelle, OMA redessine de la même façon le grand magasin KaDeWe de Berlin. Avec une même structure : le labyrinthe, qui se décline comme autant de modulations d’espaces propices à la déambulation et au franchissement.

Le levier « expérience client », lui-même, devient prétexte à toutes les scénographies complexes : nœuds, enchevêtrements, nids, couloirs, articulations multiples… une posture plus nourrissante des cadres de consommation.

De la rupture des univers créatifs ?

Sur la beauté et les industries de la création, les lignes bougent autour de cette même rhétorique sociétale. « Out » les standards rectilignes, place à la subversion !
Née à Los Angeles à la suite de l’élection du président Trump aux Etats-Unis en novembre 2016, Lipslut a été fondée sur cette même idée : faire valoir l’humeur, plutôt que la rigueur des explications et les bienfaits consommateurs. Au cœur de l’industrie cosmétique, la marque se veut dérision et intermédiaire au désordre sociopolitique.

Autre illustration palpable,Etat Libre d’Orange et Ogilvy Paris conçoivent à l’été 2018 le premier parfum issu des déchets de la parfumerie : « I am trash, les fleurs du déchet ». Dans la lignée de « Fat Electrician », et « Attaquer le soleil », la maison joue d’audace et de notes irrévérencieuses.

Coté mode, dans un univers tout aussi guindé – qui plus après le normcore – les marques Vetements et Off-White offrent une nouvelle proposition créative, mélangeant luxe, mots d’’ordre et esprit vieilles fripes, décomplexé. Une nouvelle dramaturgie esthétique.

Eloge de la folie, valorisation de l’impertinence

Moins de sciences, plus d’imprudence.
Dans le paysage mental plus général, ces repères sont – paradoxalement – un attrait pour ce qui n’est pas prévisible. Devinable. 
Ce message est relayé dans les contenus par les campagnes comme Asos (Live Curious), Dutch Design Week et Vogue. Qu’importe le solennel, il faut manier l’extravagance pour multiplier les moments d’adhérence.

Parallèlement et à un moment où tout est design, on laisse la parole à l’art – et la divination – plutôt qu’à la data science. A l’optimisation dans tous les domaines.
Parmi lesquels David Shrigley et Martin Boyce qui mettent en relation distraction et imprudence pour questionner les schémas et remettre en question la notion d’ordre et d’obéissance – au sens de schéma social. Le succès de sa parodie est à nouveau un élément matériel de l’attrait pour l’absurdité du quotidien.

Ces illogismes et cette philosophie du désordre se retrouve dans le cadre discursif du « libre cours » (à l’imagination et à la créativité) de l’inédit et plus encore dans la sérendipité, et la capacité à trouver quelque chose qu’on n’avait pas l’ambition de rechercher.

Organiser le hasard ..? Créer les conditions d’un enchainement de circonstances.

Dès lors, et pour reprendre l’analyse du sociologue Harmut Rosa, cette érotique sociale se détache du principe « d’écho » – une jouissance programmée où le consommateur est une cible – pour privilégier celui de « résonance ».

Plus d'actualités