Read

Portrait de Marie Dupin
10.07.21

(RE)THINK FASHION 2022 – A conversation with Marie Dupin, NellyRodi’s Business Director

Interviews

I) Like many other sectors, fashion was truly upended by the health crisis and now seems to be undergoing a deep-seated transformation. Some professionals were hit very hard, but the crisis also benefited others who are now more powerful than ever. Can you tell us more about this?

COVID-19 brought considerable change to the face of fashion. This worldwide timeout made many people better informed and more aware of the industry’s environmental, human and social impact. Numerous scandals caused great damage to the reputation of fashion, which had already been tagged as the world’s second most polluting industry. Consumers want to buy less, better or differently, and they’re turning to brands with a social agenda. Businesses with a mission or those who show their transparency or social or environmental responsibility have become extremely desirable to a certain number of consumers.

Conversely, the pandemic has given even more power to the brands and pure players who pick up on the trends faster than ever and are still putting products at low prices on the market. An example is Shein, the ready-to-wear leader in France for the first quarter.

So we’re witnessing a polarization of a sector that swings between a frantic pace and slowing down, between pleasure and responsibility, between fast and slow. These seeming contradictions are a reflection of our society: complex, multi-facetted and constantly changing.

It’s undeniable that CSR is now a top priority for the sector. But let’s not forget that fashion also needs to keep an element of dreams, frivolity and fun. This transformation of the playing field and this evolution of consumers’ expectations are wonderful opportunities for brands to innovate, be transformed, go hybrid, express themselves, break the codes and have a good time.

II) You spoke about the transformation of the industry. How much has digital technology and especially social media accelerated these changes?

 Social media has had a colossal impact on the fashion system. Not only has it forced brands to completely reconsider how they interact with their clients, it has opened up the public’s access to fashion and luxury brands. Now those brands have to be cooler and more desirable for the generations that are eager for the next new thing and for content. For these consumers, a brand’s attractivity lies, above all, in its ability to embrace the era and pop culture.

The latest Balenciaga show included a broadcast of a Simpsons episode, Gucci continues to move into the gaming world, Balmain is launching a TV series, Galeries Lafayette now carries Kim Kardashian’s Skims brand and Undiz created a capsule collection with Aya Nakamura. All these signs show that the borders between fashion, pop culture and the influencer phenomenon are less and less distinct.

These new influences and this new generation are bringing both modernity and freshness to the fashion industry. The esthetic codes have changed, and brands, big labels and fast fashion must reposition themselves to meet those demands. It’s a brand new game for the industry’s players. 

omer simpson
aya x undiz

III) The new (Re)Think Fashion study is about to be released. What do you think the major topics and challenges for fashion brands will be over the next five years?

  1. Their digital and technological transformation

We just talked about this: social media is a great creative arena for brands, but it has also become a fantastic source of inspiration for designing collections.

Using digital technology as a distribution channel is obviously nonnegotiable, and taking advantage of its growing power was an absolute priority for brands during the pandemic. Even so, digitalization in the sector is only just beginning, and now is the time to get involved with two related issues:

  • Applying digital and technological transformations throughout the entire value chain, from the conception of products to their production to their marketing and distribution. 3D design, NFTs, the blockchain, livestreaming, manufacturing on demand and storytelling for collections are subjects we look at in this new study as well as
  • How this digital and technological transformation impacts organization, professions and calendars.

 

  1. Going international

For fashion, the potential of doing business on an international scale is extremely important. A brand’s business growth is directly tied to its international presence, in the Chinese and US markets, of course, but also in India and Africa, which are future growth markets.

A priority for brands is to understand these countries’ consumers, their expectations, their lifestyles and how they consume in order to reach them while still maintaining a coherent DNA and without altering the brand. Brands need to adapt to the different profiles in the different markets without losing their identity.

  1. Their raison d’être

Just like the digital challenges, the sector’s CSR transformation will be one of the main issues in coming years. Here again, it’s about a profound transformation affecting all of a business’s services. But before rushing blindly forward, brands need to asks themselves some fundamental questions about why they exist; the human, social and environmental concerns they want include in their mid- and long-term strategies; and, of course, their consumers’ thought processes.

Don’t miss the (Re)Think Fashion 22 presentation on 9 November at the NellyRodi offices for a complete analysis of the different challenges for fashion now and in the future.

More news

Lire

Interview Marie Dupin - Rethink Fashion
07.10.21

(RE)THINK FASHION 2022 - Échange avec Marie Dupin, Directrice Business NellyRodi

Interviews

I) Comme beaucoup d’autres secteurs, la mode a été très bouleversée par la crise sanitaire et semble vivre une véritable transformation de fond. Certains acteurs ont été très impactés mais cette crise a aussi profité à d’autres, plus puissants que jamais. Peux-tu nous en dire plus ?

Le covid-19 a considérablement changé le visage de la mode. Cette pause mondiale a permis à de nombreuses personnes de se renseigner et de prendre conscience de l’impact environnement, social et sociétal de cette industrie. Plusieurs scandales ont fortement endommagé l’image de la mode, déjà étiquetée deuxième industrie la plus polluante au monde. Les consommateurs veulent consommer moins, mieux ou différemment et se tournent de plus en plus vers des marques engagées. Les entreprises à mission ou celles qui font preuve de transparence ou de responsabilité sociale ou environnementale sont devenues extrêmement désirables pour un certain nombre d’entre eux.

A l’inverse, cette pandémie a rendu plus puissantes que jamais des marques et des pures players qui captent les tendances toujours plus vite pour proposer toujours plus de produits à mini prix à l’instar de Shein, leader du prêt-à-porter en France au 1er trimestre.

On assiste donc à une polarisation du secteur qui oscille entre frénésie et ralentissement, entre plaisir et responsabilité, entre fast et slow.

Ces apparentes contradictions sont à l’image de notre société : complexe, multi-facettes et en constante mutation.

La RSE est aujourd’hui une priorité majeure pour le secteur, c’est indéniable, mais ne perdons pas de vue que la mode doit aussi conserver une part de rêve, de légèreté et de fun.
Cette transformation du paysage et cette évolution des attentes consommateurs sont une opportunité formidable pour les marques pour innover, se transformer, hybrider, s’exprimer, casser les codes et s’amuser.

II) Tu parlais de transformation du secteur, à quel point le digital et surtout les réseaux sociaux ont accéléré cette transformation ?

Les réseaux sociaux ont eu un impact colossal sur le système mode.

Au-delà du fait qu’ils ont obligé les marques à revoir totalement leur manière d’interagir avec leurs clients, ils ont démocratisé l’accès aux marques de mode et aux marques de luxe les obligeants à être plus cool et plus désirable aux yeux de générations avides de nouveautés, de contenu et pour qui l’attractivité d’une marque réside avant tout dans sa capacité à embrasser l’époque et la pop culture.

Un épisode des Simpson projeté au dernier show Balenciaga, Gucci qui multiplie les incursions dans l’univers du gaming, Balmain qui se lance dans la réalisation de série, Skims la marque de Kim K qui arrive aux Galeries Lafayette, Undiz qui lance une capsule avec Aya Nakamura sont autant de marqueurs que les frontières entre Mode – Pop Culture et entertainment sont de plus en plus minces.

Ces nouvelles influences et cette nouvelle génération apportent à la fois un vent de modernité et de nouveauté dans le secteur de la mode : les codes esthétiques ont changé et les marques, grands labels comme Fast Fashion, doivent se repositionner afin de répondre à ces demandes, mais cela vient totalement redistribuer les cartes des acteurs de l’industrie.

NellyRodi parle du défilé Balenciaga x Simpson
NellyRodi parle du défilé Balenciaga x Simpson
Aya Nakamura X Undiz par NellyRodi
Aya Nakamura X Undiz par NellyRodi

III) La nouvelle étude « (Re)Think Fashion 2022 » va sortir. Pour toi, quels sont les grands sujets et enjeux des 5 prochaines années pour les marques de mode ?

1. Leur transformation digitale et technologique :

Nous venons d’en parler, les réseaux sociaux sont un formidable terrain d’expression pour les marques mais ils sont aussi devenus une fantastique source d’inspiration pour penser les collections.

Le digital comme canal de distribution est évidemment incontournable et la montée en puissance sur le digital a été la priorité absolue des marques pendant la pandémie. Malgré cela, la digitalisation du secteur en est encore à ses débuts et il faut maintenant s’atteler à 2 choses qui sont liées à savoir :

  • La transformation digitale et technologique sur toute la chaîne de valeur : de la conception des produits, à leur fabrication, à leur communication et à leur distribution : Conception 3D, NFT, Blockchain, livestreaming, fabrication à la demande, éditorialisation des collections sont des sujets que nous traiterons dans cette nouvelle étude, mais aussi :
  • Comment cette transformation digitale et technologique vient impacter les organisations, les métiers ou les calendriers ?

2. Leur internationalisation :

Le potentiel business pour la mode est extrêmement important à l’international. La croissance business d’une marque est directement liée à sa présence à l’international : sur le marché Chinois et États-uniens évidemment, mais aussi en Inde et Afrique qui sont les futurs marchés porteurs.

La priorité des marques est de comprendre les consommateurs de ces pays, leurs attentes, leurs modes de vie, leurs manières de consommer, pour les adresser sans dénaturer la marque et garder un ADN commun. Les marques doivent adapter différents visages aux différents marchés, sans pour autant se perdre.

3. Leur raison d’être :

Au même titre que le digital, la transformation RSE du secteur est un des grands enjeux des prochaines années et là encore, il s’agit d’une transformation en profondeur qui va impacter tous les services d’une entreprise. Mais avant de se jeter tête baissée, il faut que les marques se posent une question fondamentale quant à leur raison d’être et les enjeux sociaux et environnementaux qu’elles souhaitent intégrer dans leur stratégie à moyen et long terme et évidement ceux qui raisonneront dans la tête de leurs consommateurs.

 

👉🏼 Ne manquez pas la présentation « (RE)THINK FASHION 2022 » qui se tiendra le 9 novembre dans les locaux NellyRodi, pour un décryptage complet des différents enjeux de la mode d’aujourd’hui et demain.

Plus d'actualités