Read

Contact us
Deplar Farm : Islande
Timothée Richard 12.15.20

Under Tourism

Decodings

Ethical and authentic values are taking on sacred status and redefining the world map of tourism.

In the wake of the “slow travel” movement and criticism of “over tourism” – arguing that the tourist overload in attractive cities is not only intrusive, but sometimes destructive as well –  specialized academics like James Kennel have introduced the notion of “under tourism” to describe a paradigm shift in consumer attitudes towards the tourist industry.

This term reflects recent developments in tourism, e.g. increased awareness of its social and environmental impact, a rise in the number of influencers singing the praises of “authentic” tourist experiences and greater interest in local residents. Observers like Marine Loisy, a researcher specialized in social anthropology, think that the value of “locals” has never been so high.

As part of this trend, unique destinations and transformational experiences – rather than luxury hospitality offers – are coming to be regarded as the ultimate in extravagance.

Authentic and bespoke

In many cities attractive to tourists, “Airbnbization” is drawing fire. One good example is an article by journalist Carlos Zanón that appeared last year in the Spanish daily paper “El Pais”. It reported the adverse effects of tourism on the Gothic quarter of Barcelona. Many are reacting against this phenomenon. For them, it no longer suffices to stray off the beaten path to construct a distinctive self-image or flout conventions. Their goal is to escape what is “counterfeit” and conformist notions of comfort.

In his book “No Fake“, French journalist and essayist Jean-Laurent Cassely takes a close look at the supply side of the “authenticity” phenomenon. He questions the standardization of “authentic” experiences and notes a growing feeling of unreality that has gradually made it harder to detect what is “real”. 

Going counter to this current and to overtourism – in which case homogeneity presents a hazard for the environment and for preserving the sector’s appeal – several agencies are offering another take on luxury with “mystery”, ethical and bespoke travel packages. Differentiated immersion is a key priority for agencies like Wix Squared, which asks its customers to indicate their likes, dislikes and practical requirements, then proposes an ideal “authentic” destination tailored to their specifications.

Today, luxury travel is booming. According to a market forecast by Allied Market Research, the segment will grow by 6.4% a year between 2016 and 2022. Premium providers catering to the preference for transformational experiences include the roving hotel 700’000 Heures or the ultra-premium society known as The Extraordinary Adventurous Club.

While these may be niche concepts (packages start at £175,000 for The Extraordinary Adventurous Club), they show that the idea of luxury travel is evolving. In the words of Guy Heywood, chief operating officer at Alila Hotels and Resorts: “Luxury used to be about gold, marble and chandeliers, big lobbies and glitzy hotels,” he says. “I think now it’s about the experience. It’s about the destination. It’s about what am I as a guest getting out of this from an educational point of view and an emotive point of view.”

A new world map for tourism              

Which new geographic areas are attracting attention? According to our research, Gen Zers are driven by a “quest for truth”.  As a result, secret, unexpected and remote spots are the new standard.

Bhutan is the new destination for carefully controlled tourism in the Himalayas; the Andaman Islands are surpassing the Maldives in popularity; and Sumba is more on-trend than Bali. For these remote destinations, this trend represents a step towards a tourist economy. But it is also visible in large cities: there has been a rise in tourist flows to places like Algiers (rather than Marrakech) or Podgorica in Montenegro rather than Dubrovnik.

In France, one notes a surge of new interest in Auvergne (instead of the French Riviera) for similar reasons.

Another variation on the theme of local tourism is the “staycation“, emerging in Africa and elsewhere in the world. This concept seems to hold out promise as a way to improve the geographic, seasonal and thematic distribution of global tourist flows.

Cover image © Deplar Farm / Islande

More news

Lire

Deplar Farm : Islande
Timothée Richard 15.12.20

Under Tourism

Décryptages

Au moment où l’éthique et l’authenticité sont élevées au rang du sacré, une nouvelle mappemonde touristique se met en place.

Après le slow voyage et face aux critiques de « l’Over Tourism », – qui jugent intrusive, parfois destructive, l’immersion de touristes dans les villes attractives – les experts universitaires comme James Kennel abordent la notion « d’Under Tourism » pour souligner le changement de paradigme des consommateurs vis-à-vis de l’industrie touristique.

En ce terme plusieurs constats émergent : la prise de conscience de l’impact social et environnemental du secteur ; la multiplication des chantres de l’expérience touristique authentique ; et le retour de la figure de l’habitant, qui, pour des observateurs comme Marine Loisy – chercheuse en anthropologie sociale -, n’a jamais été aussi valorisée.

Dans ce contexte, les destinations uniques et les expériences transformationnelles – plutôt que l’hébergement de luxe – sont en passe de devenir l’extravagance ultime.

De l’authenticité plaquée Or

À l’heure de l’airbnbisation des espaces – comme critiquée par le journaliste Carlos Zanón l’année dernière dans El Pais – il ne suffit plus, pour bâtir un moi distinctif ou transgresser la norme, de faire un pas de côté, mais de s’éloigner de l’idée de « contrefait » et de confort conformisant.

Un phénomène analysé côté offres commerciales par l’essayiste Jean-Laurent Cassely dans « No Fake », qui met en cause notamment la standardisation des expériences et le sentiment d’irréalité qui s’est propagé un peu partout au détriment d’une conception appropriée de ce qui est « vrai ».

A l’encontre de ce phénomène et à rebours d’une industrie où cette homogénéité est dangereuse – pour l’environnement et pour l’attractivité du secteur -, plusieurs agences proposent donc une autre idée du luxe avec voyages mystères et éthiques à la clef. Une immersion différenciante proposée par des agences comme Wix Squared qui soigne son offre authentique en sélectionnant la destination idéale en fonction des goûts personnels, des dégoûts et des exigences pratiques préalablement renseignées par le consommateur.

© Wix Squared : Bagan

Alors que le segment du voyage de luxe est en pleine expansion selon une étude d’Allied Market Research (avec un taux de croissance annuel de 6,4% prévu entre 2016 et 2022), cette vague d’un voyage plus « transformationnel » est repris par des agences comme 700,000 heures, ou des clubs ultra premium comme The Extraordinary Adventurous Club (EAC).

Même si ces concepts font office de niches (à partir de 175 000 £ le séjour pour The Extraordinary Adventurous Club), ils sont représentatifs de l’idée de luxe en elle-même qui est désormais adossée au voyage : « L’exlusivité était autrefois une affaire d’or, de marbre et de lustres, de grands lobbys et de fastueux hôtels. C’est maintenant un sujet de destination. Il s’agit de ce que je reçois en tant qu’invité d’un point de vue éducatif et émotif », confirme Guy Heywood, directeur de l’exploitation dans les hôtels et complexes Alila.

Nouvelle mappemonde touristique

Alors, où faut-il aller chercher cette nouvelle carte touristique ? Alors que la Gen Z est plus que jamais en « quête de vérité » selon nos études, les lieux secrets et les spots isolés et inattendus sont la nouvelle référence.

Ainsi Bhoutan est la nouvelle référence himalayenne du tourisme soigneusement contrôlé ; tout comme les îles Andaman deviennent plus prisées que les Maldives ; Sumba plus tendance que Bali ; et le phénomène, – qui précède l’économie touristique – se vérifie dans les plus grandes villes avec un afflux de plus en plus fort vers des lieux comme Alger – plutôt que Marrakech – ou Podgorica (Monténégro) – plutôt que Dubrovnik.

De la même façon, en France, l’Auvergne – plutôt que la Côte d’Azur – fait l’objet d’un intérêt nouveau sur ces critères.

© Bhoutan. Photo - SC Shekar

Selon le magazine Mint, c’est aussi des lieux comme l’Ecosse des Highlands qui méritent désormais notre attention, portée par l’aspect visuel… Dans la lignée, les destinations reculées que sont l’Islande (+ 380% de fréquentation en 8 ans), le Kirghizistan, ou encore la Norvège (lieu du projet Svart, par l’agence d’architecture Snøhetta à horizon 2021).

© Projet Svart hotel (2021) : image - Snøhetta-Plompmozes

Au cœur de ces nouveaux codes on retrouve aussi la dynamique dynamisante des « staycations », qui, en Afrique et un peu partout, redessinent un tourisme local. Une perspective d’ores et déjà annonciatrice d’une meilleure répartition géographique, saisonnière et thématique du tourisme mondial.

Image de couverture © Deplar Farm / Islande

Plus d'actualités